Les Fontaines, circuit n°4 autour de Najac
Relatively simple path around Najac (but with a drop which makes it a difficulty) to discover old fountains in a calm and wooded environment. Possible departure from the VAL-VVF holiday village at Puech Moutonniers.
Indispensable to the life of the village, the fountains were fed by drainage water from the plateau of Terres Rouge - La Planquette. They are called griffouls.
The first fountain was built in 1344 in the Bourguet district. It is carved from a single block of granite. One can find there the figures of the former consuls and the bishop. It remained in use until the beginning of the 20th century.